I pat my back for doing it all alone: Suchitra Krishnamoorthy

she-keeps-me-going
“Everything falls into place when it has to,” suggests Suchitra Krishnamoorthy to all the single mothers, who are doing a great job with their kids.

If you ever feel like giving up, just remember there is a little girl watching who wants to be just like you.

Daughters might be close to their dads, but when mothers and daughters are together – the two create magic! A mother is a daughter’s constant strength, while having a daughter never let’s a mother miss that ‘friend’ for life.  One such mother-daughter duo is Suchitra Krishnamoorthy and Kaveri, that inspires each other every day. Celeb mommy, Suchitra, who is making her theatre debut today with ‘Drama Queen’ a play based on her biography says that her daughter keeps her going.

We recently got to chat with the multi-talented mommy, Suchitra. Here’s what she has to say about her bond with her daughter, being a single mother and making a comeback to acting…

Who inspired you for making this comeback?
My daughter, Kaveri. She pushes me to get back to work. Keeps telling me she is old enough to manage on her own now & I need to step out into the world once again. Basically she also lets me know time and again that I cant use her as an excuse to be lazy or fearful any more!

What is Drama Queen all about?
Drama Queen is in the genre of a Roman-a-clef. Where fact and fiction merge. It is about the journey of a single mom stumbling through a confused period of her life in an attempt to reclaim herself. Its also about finding true love in an untrue world. All with a lot of humour and laughs of course!

Moms are fabulous. But each one of us has a trait that dominates our overall ‘mom-personality.’ What is that trait in you?
I baby Kaveri a lot much to her embarrassment. Shes constantly having to remind me that she’s no longer two years old & not to baby babble with her anymore- especially in front of her friends. But I cant help myself.

Kaveri is already carving a space of her own. What role do you play in her decisions regarding her life, career etc?
I’ll hold her hand as long as she needs me to. Right now, I want her to enjoy herself and not take things too seriously. There’s a whole life ahead of her for that.

She is also an early starter. What is your suggestion to parents who want their kids to take an early start?
It depends from child to child & what talents a child has. I myself started at 15 but then chucked it all up at 22 for marriage & then later motherhood. So I think it depends on the choices one makes & the circumstances surrounding or leading to or emerging from those choices – there are no fixed rules. Everyone’s life is differen

How did motherhood change you as a person?
It changes everyone. Can’t be explained but experienced. Its like explaining colour to the blind- impossible to describe precisely

What do you want to say, when you look at your marriage and divorce today?
It’s a powerful story. Lots of Drama 🙂

Did it change the dad-daughter equation?
Kaveri enjoys a very good relationship with her father

Was playing a single mother a struggle?
I don’t play a single mother. I AM a single mother. Yes, it’s been a struggle . But I enjoy being  mother a lot- so I focus on the pleasure rather than the pressure.

Some tips for the brilliant single mothers out there who are trying to do their best?Everything falls into place when it has to. You cant hurry time and you have to keep faith.

How did you manage to wear so many hats and dabble into so many things together with nurturing a kid?
Creative expression is very important to me. I have too much energy & I realized long ago that I need to use that constructively or it can turn against me and that is true for everybody. So far while Kaveri was younger I therefore focused on working from or around home- be it my paintings or my writings etc. Now that she’s older & I am comfortable leaving her on her own for a few days at a time I am venturing out into the world a lot more. Sometimes I feel joint families are ideal- It does take a village to raise a child. I pat myself on the back often for doing it alone.

If there was one thing that you could change in your life, what would it be?
I wouldn’t have married so young. (Suchitra was married to renowned movie maker, Shekhar Kapoor)

A mother’s biggest strength according to you…
Is her ability to love her child above herself.

How do you help Kaveri stay positive?
Shes a very compassionate & astute kid. Children imbibe more from observation than gyaan. Like every parent I have done the best I know. I tell her when she grows up  & if she wants to write a drama queen that’s perfectly okay too. Her observations of me as a mom as mine are of my mother in drama Queen would be something very interesting 🙂

You can watch Suchitra Krishnamoorthy’s Drama Queen on October 2, 2016
Time: 7:00 p.m.
Venue: St. Andrews Auditorium: Mumbai, St. Dominic Road, Bandra West, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400050, India
Price : 500 – 1500/-

 

Leave a Reply

