7 Reasons why every mother should do ‘DIY’ projects with her kids! #AtoZChallenge

D#AtoZChallenge Day 4, D for ‘DIY’

I enjoy doing craft-work and I believe in DIY (Do It Yourself) as much as I can and whenever I can. You can check out some of my DIY creations here, here and here. While creating interesting things out of stuff that one might dismiss as useless gives me a high, doing it with my own hands fills me with creative satisfaction.

DIYHowever, this interest in DIY had taken a backseat since a last few years owing to long working hours, marriage, hectic schedules and what not. But, I am trying to revive my hobby. Especially, because now I have H to join me in an year or two. I don’t know if she would be interested in craft and DIY like me, but still, I want to give it a try. In fact, I believe that every mother should do DIY activities and projects with her kids. And here’s why…

1. Gives you together time
First and also the most important reason – two of you can spend some quality and fun time together when you take part in DIY projects with your kids. Working together will give your relationship a new angle, which is more friendly and comfortable. And in today’s day and age establishing a comfort level with your child is of utmost importance.

2. Nurtures kids’ imagination
Initially your kids might just follow what you do, work according to your instructions and learn the required skills. But they won’t take much time in putting their own little minds at work and come up with awe-inspiring ideas. Kids have an unlimited imagination and DIY to explore it.

3. Makes them care for nature
DIY is a fun way to introduce your kids to the concepts of reducing, recycling, reusing and re-purposing them. And in today’ day and age when global warming is an alarming issue and reducing environmental foot prints is the need of the hour, teaching your kids about the three Rs is of utmost importance.

4. Teaches them the concept of self-sufficiency
I took to the addictive world of DIY because I couldn’t step out to buy something. Soon I started enjoying it. When I could make something using things available with me, why sweat it out in the market. So, while doing DIY with H, I would be helping her grow into a self-sufficient individual, who would believe in the power of her own hands.

5. Teaches them to be resourceful
DIY will also promote THINKING in your child. Unavailability of a particular thing will make them think about an alternative. Just a little bit of brain-storming and brain-whacking, and they’ll come up with something mind-boggling using the limited resources.

6. Teaches them value human effort
When there’s a machine to help you in every chore, appreciating human efforts is a rarity. So, a child, who enjoys DIY would know the value of human effort gone in a certain thing. He would understand the emotions attached to a hand-made gift better than a non-DIYer.

7. Teach them saving money
Last but not the least, getting down to do things definitely help you save money. And as they say – a penny saved, is a penny earned. So, by doing DIY with your kids you are inculcating the habits of saving money to some extent.

A few DIY activities I want to do with my girl when she grows up…
– Make non-toxic play dough
– Make edible paint
– Make a terrarium
– Grow a veggie garden
– Make paper plate puppets

2 thoughts on “7 Reasons why every mother should do ‘DIY’ projects with her kids! #AtoZChallenge

  1. we like to do things like this too. When I read your blog title, I thought you meant putting up shelves, decorating etc, which is what DIY means over here!

    Visiting from A-Z Challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

