Recipe: Dark Desire chocolate cake covered with ganache

Image

Learning to bake cakes like those shown in ‘The Ultimate Cake Off’ and ‘Fabulous Cakes’ is on my Bucket List. But that’s a long way to go considering that I’m just a beginner, who’s learning the art thanks to all the bloggers and websites, who share their valuable recipes making it easier for people like me.

H completed 11 months yesterday and we had to cut a cake. We have been doing that every month ever since she was born (obsessed parents? Yes!). However, this time I thought of baking myself rather than ordering in. But I have never made those gorgeous looking themed cakes. It is still a dream for me to whip-up that cream with perfect soft-peaks as they say to adorn my cakes. Till date I have treated my family with a few fruit cakes, marble cakes, upside-down cakes and brownies etc. But I had to make a cake complete with icing for H.

Recently, a dear friend told me about a cake recipe that involved using ganache and I knew what I had to make. My first ever ever decorated cake. While Vidhya on her blog calls it the ‘Black Magic Cake’ I named mine ‘Dark Desire.’ Dark because its loaded with chocolate and desire because both H and her dad love dark chocolate.

I’m not a food blogger but a mommy blogger and since I made this to celebrate Baby H’s 11 months, so this had to find a place on my blog.

I followed the recipe, with a few alterations and the results were finger-licking good! And it’s easy too! Here goes the recipe…

Ingredients:

Flour (Maida):  1 3⁄4 Cups
Sugar:  3/4 Cups (Original recipe said 2 cups)
Dark Cocoa: 3⁄4 Cup
Butter milk: 1 Cup
Coffee, hot: 1 Cup
Vegetable Oil: 1 Cup
Baking Soda: 2 Teaspoons
Baking Powder: 1 Teaspoon
Salt: 1/4 Teaspoon (Original recipe said 1 Teaspoon)
Vanilla Extract:1 Teaspoon
Eggs: 2

For Ganache
Cream:  Amul Cream (100 gms)
Dark chcolate: (100 gms)

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.
2. Grease and flour the cake tin.
3. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
4. Into this mixture add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla. Now, beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes.
5. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 30-40 mins till a toothpick comes out clean.

How to make ganache
Heat the cream in a saucepan. Just when it is about to boil, take it off the gas.
Add in the chocolate pieces and whisk the mixture till choclate pieces melt and the mixture becomes smooth.
(To get more shine in your ganache, you can add a little butter in the cream)
Refrigerate the ganache to get a thicker consistency.
Once the cake is ready, let it cool.
Cut the cake horizontally. Cover one part of cake with ganache and cover it with the second layer. Now, use the remaining ganache to cover the entire cake. Decorate as you like.

Now dig into the gooey delight! My daughter just loved licking ganache!

Thanks Vidhya, for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

