Papa makes personalised nursery rhymes for H!

Papa M with H busy talking :)
Papa M with H busy talking 🙂

Daughters and dads share an awesome chemistry. It is such a heart warming sight when H and Papa M are busy in their own world leaving me a little jealous but highly contended. Mommy suddenly becomes the second preference for H when Papa M is around her, even in distant sight. Her eyes follow his car till the farthest corner of the road every morning he leaves for office. She can’t speak yet but those empty eyes and hands shout out her emotions. Her ten months old memory doesn’t leave her sad for long. A look at mumma and Ms Naughtiness is back to her routine antics.

I always knew M would turn out to be a loving dad. I also knew he was creative. And when his creativity and daddy-vity (pardon me for that invention, but it does sound nice, isn’t it?) came together, the results were infectious! He has been creating these small and simple rhymes for H, ever since she was born. We sang these rhymes to H (yes, even I joined the gang) while doing different activities during the day. Obviously, in the beginning they must have been some random words for her, but today they have become an integral part of her day. She not only reacts to them with claps, grins and giggles but also waits for us to sing to her every time she does a task that has a rhyme dedicated to it.

So, here goes the Papa-made personalised nursery rhyme # 1.

Smile rhyme: This was dedicated to H’s adorable smile.

My sweet little girl…
My lovely little girl…
Has a lovely little smile…
that says, Ha Ha Ha…

Later on this came handy while feeding H. At Ha ha ha… she opens her mouth and there goes the food inside 🙂

The Prayer Rhyme: Papa M started this ritual to start the day with a visit in to the temple room and a quick prayer. And the rhyme goes like this…

Dear lord, bless me today…
Keep me healthy, fit and fine…
Let me have my milk today…
Let me have my food today… (added when H began her solids, customization is in 😉 )
Pls give me good sleep… (Yes, I added this line.)
Bless my Tatha, bless my Ajji, bless my Nani, bless my Papa, bless my Mumma and bless Me! Thank You! (Tatha = Grand pa, Ajji = Paternal Grand ma, Naani = Maternal Grand ma)

Sneeze song: This is not exactly a rhyme but H loves to hear it every time she sneezes.

H says: Aaaacchoo!
We say: God Bless You, Mumma Kiss You, Papa Miss you!
She keeps on staring at us until we say this after every sneeze and bursts into a hearty laugh after listening.

Non-veg promotion rhyme: I am an vegetarian and Papa M loves non-vegetarian delights. Though I would never mind H developing a taste for non-veg, but M doesn’t want to take a chance, hence he has tweaked a popular nursery rhyme and created this non-veg promotion…

Mary had a little lamb,
little lamb, little lamb,
Mary had a little lamb,
And then she cooked and ate it! (Grrr..)

Bath time rhyme: Courtesy: Mommy

Rub, rub, rub your hands,
Rub, rub, rub your feet,
Rub them every day,
Rub, rub, rub your face,
Rub, rub, rub your tummy,
Rub it every day,
Put some water on your head and get ready to play!

Now, she has started following the words and rubs her tummy and hands.

I’m sure you also have your special songs and rhymes that you sing to your bundle of joy. Share your rhyme in the comments 🙂

//

5 thoughts on “Papa makes personalised nursery rhymes for H!

Leave a Reply

