Maternity Photography: While we were waiting….

Pregnancy Shoot: While we were waiting...

Out of the two of us, Mahesh (M) and me, I am the excited one. Be it festivals, celebrations, birthdays, anniversaries or anything that calls for some kind of special arrangement (i think that’s the way women are!). While he would just give it a mere thought finally leaving it all to me, I would enjoy talking, discussing and preparing about an event days and even months in advance. I use to plan surprise birthday parties for my cousins when I was a kid. Today, I don’t mind spending hours searching out perfect return gifts for a friend’s daughter’s birthday party. I happily play the ‘tattoo auntie’ at a dear friend’s daughter’s birthday. I just love doing all the running around getting those arrangements done and see smiles run across faces.

Wondering why I’m telling you all that? Well, because the man who rarely participated in planning surprised me with something really special, something that’s close to my heart and stay there forever…

So it happened like this…

After the entire rush of emotions looking at those two lines shining bright on the pregnancy kit settled (if at all it did till date). I was back in my planning mode. From thinking about our first buy for Hiya and setting up the nursery to planning her naming ceremony to her first birthday et al. But one event that would happen way before all that was my God Bharai (Indian Baby Shower). Who would plan that? I won’t be able to run around. Then, how will it go? Will it be as I plan it to be? Will M be as excited as I am?

Read more & check out the pictures after the jump…

I had just stepped into the second trimester and was eagerly waiting to kiss the seventh month (Traditionally, God Bharai takes place in the 7th). But soon I got to know that at my In-Law’s place, God Bharai doesn’t take place at all. So, my plans for a jolly good baby shower went for a toss. But then something happened. M surprised me like never before! He came up with the idea of doing a ‘Pregnancy shoot’! How I loved this! Voila! For the first time M was as excited as me, in fact even more for this and this very thought was making me super elated. Soon, we were spreading the word around for someone who could do this shoot for us. We didn’t want to hire a professional photographer. That could take away the warmth. This was our special moment.

Within no time, we met Stuti Sakhalkar, thanks to another supah excited friend, KG. To address Stuti as ‘just a photographer’ would be wrong. She is ‘happiness personified,’ a magician, whose camera is her wand. She’s an artist, who paints emotions and sentiments with hues of care, thought and warmth. Above all, she’s a dreamer like me!

Finally after a few adjustments in her schedules and popping a few antibiotics as she was running with fever, Stuti squeezed in our sudden request in her otherwise busy schedule at a very short notice. (Stuti is a busy bee, her photography company ‘The Cheesecake Project’s’ calendar is usually choc-a-block!)

Finally, the D-day came. Blame it to the special hormones that are at work most of the times during pregnancy, I never got time to plan much about the shoot. Apart from a few mandatory shots that I saw on the net, I was blank. But then, M is M. He loves doing things last minute. Just a couple of hours before the shoot, he was driving me across the roads of Mumbai picking up props for the shoot. My command was his order. You’ll see all that through the course of the post. A heavily pregnant me was enjoying all this while sipping my nariyal paani.

Soon, we were back home. Loaded with props, excitement and anticipation! Enters Stuti-a bright, bespectacled and bubbling with energy Marathi mulgi, who loves to know your story before she goes click click! In no time, she transformed the self-conscious me into her model and captured shots that form the most beautiful moments of my life. What more? She pulled the often-reluctant-to-be-clicked M too in the shoot. And how I loved it!

Love that childlike excitement in the eyes of Papa-to-Be 🙂

Maternity Shoot
Maternity Shoot: M at work

Pani Puri was the only craving I had, I hogged home-made pani-puries almost every day 😛

Maternity Shoot: Craving
Maternity Shoot: Craving

A shot that’s close to my heart! Never knew these slippers picked up from Delhi will become so special.

Maternity Shoot: Us
Maternity Shoot: Us

Contribution of an excited nani…the booties were made by H’s Nani 🙂

Maternity Shoot: Waiting to become a family
Maternity Shoot: Waiting to become a family

Thanks for joining the fun ma 🙂

Maternity Shoot: Granny is waiting!
Maternity Shoot: Granny is waiting!
Maternity Shoot: Excited me!
Maternity Shoot: Excited me!

That’s me!

Maternity Photography: Happy us
Maternity Photography: Happy us

Us 🙂 Thanks MS.

Maternity Photography: Girl or Boy?
Maternity Photography: Girl or Boy?
Maternity Photography: Hope
Maternity Photography: Hope

He wanted a girl. I wanted a healthy baby 🙂

Thank you MS for ‘planning’ this for me. Thank You Stuti for making this possible. Thank You Kasturi for spreading the happiness 🙂

//

One thought on “Maternity Photography: While we were waiting….

Leave a Reply

